Delta Omega

Alpha Psi Chapter

Delta Omega is the honorary society for graduate studies in public health. The society was founded in 1924 at Johns Hopkins University, School of Public Health. There are currently 48 chapters throughout the United States and Puerto Rico.

Delta Omega is governed by a Delta Omega constitution, by-laws and a governance manual. The governing body is the National Council of elected officers and representatives of each chapter. The council meets annually, usually in conjunction with the Annual Meeting of the American Public Health Association.

Since Delta Omega’s establishment in 1924, the meaning and scope of public health has broadened tremendously. While it is still seriously concerned with problems of environmental sanitation and communicable disease control, public health action has come to embrace all aspects of health and disease in populations. These include the planning, organization, and support of health promotion, disease prevention, and medical care. Basic to modern public health are the social sciences as well as the natural sciences–both in the United States and internationally.


Each year at the School of Public Health annual award ceremony, induction of new members is conducted.  The chapter may elect new members from four groups according to national standards:

  1. Students who are candidates for a graduate degree in public health: Up to 10% of the graduating student body, who must be in the upper 25% academically. This is across the whole year: summer, winter, and spring
  2. Faculty members at the school of public health: Either five members or 3% of the full-time faculty, whichever is less
  3. Alumni actively engaged in public health work, and a maximum of ten graduates of the local school of public health whose work in the practice of public health would serve as a model for future graduates of the school, and
  4. Honorary members possessing exceptional qualifications: This membership shall be limited to one every year conferred only upon persons possessing exceptional qualifications, who have attained meritorious distinction in the field of public health.

Election from all groups is based on outstanding performance—student scholarship, faculty in teaching and research, and alumni in public health practice.  Election to membership in Delta Omega is intended, not only to recognize merit, but also to encourage further excellence in, and devotion to, public health work.

Election to membership in Delta Omega is intended, not only to recognize merit, but also, to encourage further excellence in, and devotion to, public health work. Membership in Delta Omega reflects the dedication of an individual to quality in the field of public health and to protection and advancement of the health of all people.

Election from all four groups is based on outstanding performance–scholarship in students, teaching and research in faculty members, and community service in alumni.

Capstone Awards

The students presenting the most outstanding capstone projects as judged by the active member Faculty receive recognition for their achievements at the School’s annual research day.