Who We Are

The Faculty at LSU School of Public Health

With roots beginning in 1931, preventative medicine at LSU has long been a priority.  The official establishment of the School of Public Health in 2003, here in New Orleans, was an opportunity to not only to prioritize prevention but to bring together some of the greatest minds working in the field of Public Health from the state of Louisiana and beyond.

Starting under the leadership of renowned epidemiologist and public health advocate, Dr. Elizabeth Fontham, a focus on leadership and innovation in learning was established.  Since then, the faculty of the LSU School of Public Health has continued to hold these values.

Our faculty are leaders in their respective disciplines with years of experience on every level.  Students joining us will have the opportunity to learn with nationally renowned professionals in their efforts with state leaders to develop new policies and track outbreaks along with collaborations with public health officials from New Orleans to D.C., and bring innovative ideas to the health care field. The work of our faculty members is actively changing the lives and the health of the people in the state of Louisiana.

The school is proud that diversity can be seen in our faculty’s demographics as well.  The School of Public Health continues to strengthen its DEI procedures as an active goal to continue to reflect the students and communities we serve.

To learn more about our faculty members and their work, please check out the faculty list.

The LSU New Orleans Public Health Student