Student Awards

Chancellor’s Award

The Chancellor’s Award is given annually to a student who has demonstrated scholastic and leadership ability and exemplifies an enthusiastic commitment to the profession of public health. This award is selected by a faculty committee representing each of the program concentrations.

Dean’s Award

The Dean’s Award is given annually to a student who has made significant and demonstrable contributions to the School of Public Health through service within the School and has acted to promote the School in the wider community. This award is selected by the Dean’s Office and the Office of Student Affairs.

Delta Omega Award

Students who are candidates for a graduate degree in public health who must be in the upper 25% academic percentile are considered for this award.  A maximum of 10% of the graduating student body in an academic year may be selected among this group.  Please visit Delta Omega page for more information.

Elizabeth T.H. Fontham Award for Outstanding Community Service

The Fontham Award is given once a year in recognition of outstanding achievement in community service outside of the classroom. This award is presented once a year in May to the MPH, MS or PhD student who demonstrates the highest level of commitment and success in working with community members and organizations/systems that serve them. The student’s service must take place during time enrolled at the SPH. Students can self-nominate or be nominated by another SPH student, faculty or staff member, or by a community organization or member.