LSU SPH and Healthcare Service Division Team to Receive the 2018 ACP Quality Connect: Champion Award

The American College of Physicians Center for Quality has announced that the LSU Health Science Center Team, composed of members from both the School of Public Health and Healthcare Services Division, will receive the 2018 ACP Quality Connect: Champion Award. This award was given at the 5th annual ACP Quality Connect Luncheon on Thursday, April 19th and is part of the ACP’s Internal Medicine 2018 Annual Meeting, scheduled to be held in at the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, New Orleans, LA. The programs of ACP’s Quality Connect, provide awards to participants who have made significant achievements in the past year, and invites discussion about programs and future directions. The LSU Health Science Center Team is being recognized for their collaborative efforts with I Raise the Rates and Initiative to Raise the Adult Immunization Rates in Primary Care. The ACP Quality Connect program—I Raise the Rates—is a collaborative, data-driven campaign to support patients, physicians, health care teams, systems, and communities in raising adult immunization rates and reducing vaccine preventable diseases. The program seeks to assist internists and other primary care providers in both understanding the immunization rates of their patients and making practice changes that promote immunizations.

Members of the  LSU Health Science Center Team from the School of Public Health includes Dr. Susanne Straif-Bourgeois, faculty in Epidemiology, Dr. Yu-Wen Chiu, faculty in Health Policy & Systems Management, Dr. Randi Kaufman, faculty in Health Policy & Systems Management, Dr. Richard Culbertson, faculty and Director of Health Policy & Systems Management, Mr. Michael Celestin, faculty in Behavioral & Community Health Sciences, Mr. Patrick Maloney, PhD student in Epidemiology and Ms. Candice Schwartzenburg, MD/MPH student in Health Policy & Systems Management, Nikka Y. Khorsandi, MD/MPH student in Health Policy & Systems Managemen. From LSU Healthcare Service Division the team includes Dr. John Couk, Ms. Diane Angelico, Mr. Nathan Daigrepont, Ms. Lisa Winslow and Ms. Heidi Cheramie.